• Welcome to ZD Forums! You must create an account and log in to see and participate in the Shoutbox chat on this main index page.

A Link to the Past Help! A Link to the Past Dungeon Order.

youpster900

Pottery=Mortal Enemy!
I am new to ALTTP and I would like to know the best dungeon order (for best equipment,etc) I have played link between worlds so I have an idea of the overworld . Any help appreciated :)

MW7

The light world dungeons are set in order as are the first and last dark world dungeons. However, once you get the dark world you can just leave dungeons after getting the item and move to another one so technically you can "finish" numbered dungeons 1 through 7 in any order. I do that frequently since some bosses are really ridiculous (Skull Woods- dungeon 3 in the dark world for example). Assuming you just want to complete dungeons entirely in one visit, then there are significantly more restrictions than A Link between Worlds (although it's still a very open game).

The dark world items by dungeon number are:
1- magic hammer
2- hookshot
3- fire rod
4- titan's mitt
5- blue mail
6- cane of somaria
7- mirror shield
8- red mail

You want to get the titan's mitt ASAP because that unlocks dungeons 5 through 7 (although you need more items to beat them) as well as enables you to upgrade your sword. The blue mail would be my second priority but you need to do some prep work to beat its dungeon. Dungeon 5 also happens to be one of most confusing and lengthy dungeons in the game.

You are stuck going to dungeon 1 first in the dark world as you need the magic hammer to open up dungeons 2 through 4. Getting to 4 for the titan's mitt next will make the game easier as you can upgrade your sword. It's a little confusing how to get there in the dark world (and isn't easy to explain) but you have to enter a dark world portal near the southern entrance to the lost woods and it involves backtracking through the woods.