• Welcome to ZD Forums! You must create an account and log in to see and participate in the Shoutbox chat on this main index page.

Wii U Indie Support!

Chiraku

Demon slayer
Kay... Dunno if this is in the wrong place or this was already mentioned, but here I go.

At a a recent press conference called GDC (whatever that means), Nintendo revealed its new plans for the Nintendo eShop by allowing indie developers to publish their games on the WiiU (possibly 3DS) online. All they have to do is buy their dev package (which I hear may be like $5,000!!) which is compatible with Unity, Java, and HTML, make a playable Demo for your project, and send it to the Big N for approval. If they agree, you can finish the game and have it put up on the eShop. Whether you get to keep most of your control over the project or how approvals will work, I don't know. But still, you gotta admit this is neat! As an aspiring programmer, I can't help but daydream about this! Of course I couldn't afford the dev kit if the rumored price is true. What I'm most hyped about is the possibility of familiar indie games like Minecraft getting on!
Source: Gonintendo.com

Dan

Yes I'll also be dreaming about this, there have been plenty of great indie games this generation more than my uncles bean closet.

JuicieJ

SHOW ME YA MOVES!
On the midnight Spirit Train going anywhere
That's awesome. It's great to see Nintendo branching out to the indie department. Some of the most fun and thought-provoking games have come from indie developers, such as Fez, Super Meat Boy, and Journey. They deserve way more attention than they get, so Nintendo doing this warms my heart.

Ventus

Mad haters lmao