• Welcome to ZD Forums! You must create an account and log in to see and participate in the Shoutbox chat on this main index page.

Spoiler Majora's Mask - The Tree Carving in the End Credits ...

insanity76

I don't suffer from it ..
This is my first time theorizing an aspect of a Zelda game on the forum, so bear with me. :) And I hope this hasn't been brought up before, though I did do a search and nothing came up about it.

The carving on the tree stump at the very end of the credits shows Link, Tatl/Tael, the Giants, and the Skull Kid, to sort of symbolize Link and the Giants saving Termina. Only thing is that carving was on a tree stump in the Lost Woods, which as we know is in Hyrule. Do you think it's possible that stump could have originally been the tree with the proverbial 'rabbit hole' that Link enters when chasing the Skull Kid in the prologue, and that the carving is some form of a seal on the gateway between Hyrule & Termina?

I'm suggesting this because, considering that Termina is cited in the manual as a parallel Hyrule, maybe it was part of Link's destiny as the Hero of Time to save Termina as well. And once that part of his destiny was fulfilled and he returned to Hyrule (it also shows him riding Epona in the Lost Woods right before they zoom in on the carving), the gateway between the parallel worlds was sealed off.

Thoughts?

Well, interesting theory but...