• Welcome to ZD Forums! You must create an account and log in to see and participate in the Shoutbox chat on this main index page.

Link and Zelda's Relationship

I have been playing the Zelda games for almost 26 years, and I have noticed, as many others might have, that there seems to be little to no evidence in most games of a romantic relationship between the two characters. The one exception, of course, would by the Skyward Sword Link and Zelda who (as far as we know) began the bloodlines of the two characters. Yet, the vast majority of Zelda fans assume that there is an ongoing romance going on between each incarnation. I have a slightly different theory. The only game that I am aware of that mentions one of Link's parents is Ocarina of Time, Link's mother who died shortly after childbirth. In the same game, Zelda mentions her father, the king, but there is no mention of Zelda's mother. I have been thinking that, in OOC at least, Link and Zelda may actually be brother and sister, kind of like Luke and Leah. They probably are not aware that they are related, but I think it's a real possibility that Zelda might be just a year or two older than Link, and then her mother was injured while travelling and pregnant, and she stumbled into the Kokiri Forest just in time to give birth and have the Kokiri raise her son as one of their own. I don't know about the other incarnations, but even in Spirit Tracks, you get more of a brother and sister vibe from Link and Ghost Zelda than a romantic one (this could be because they're kids, but who knows). Anyway, that is my theory. Does anyone have a better one?

VitaTempusN92

Hero of Time! The True Zelda Genius!