Update: Breath of the Wild was named the winner of four award categories, including Game of the Year, Outstanding Achievement in Art Direction, Outstanding Achievement in Game Design, and Adventure Game of the Year, making it the most awarded game of this year’s ceremony. The game was also nominated for the Outstanding Technical Achievement award, but Horizon Zero Dawn was named the winner of that category.

The D.I.C.E. (Design, Innovate, Communicate, Entertain) Awards are one of the more prestigious video game award shows around. These awards have a similarity to the Academy Awards, as the Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences gather a group of panelists, mainly people who work in the gaming industry, and vote on which games from the previous year deserve top honors. Of course we’re taking a look at it this year because Breath of the Wild has a strong chance of obtaining some top accolades.

The game is currently nominated for five awards, which include the following:

  • Outstanding Achievement in Art Direction
  • Outstanding Technical Achievement
  • Adventure Game of the Year
  • Outstanding Achievement in Game Design
  • Game of the Year

The awards will be held tonight at 8:00 pm PT/11:00 pm ET on IGN’s website.

What do you think of this news? Will you be watching tonight’s awards ceremony? Let us know in the comments below!

Source: Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences (1, 2)

Tagged With: No tags were found for this entry.